SISAL people

Learn more and participate

Subscribe to the SISAL mailing list here.

This group is open to anyone who is interested. To participate contact a member of the Steering Group below.

Follow the working group on Twitter.

sisal cave2

Harrie Wood Cave, Yarrangobilly, Australia. Image credit: Dr Andy Baker.

Steering Group

ECR Laia Comas-Bru (University of Reading, UK)

ECR Franziska Lechleitner (University of Bern, Switzerland) - mailing list administrator and PAGES Early-Career Network representative

ECR Nikita Kaushal (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) - data liaison officer

ECR Yassine Ait Brahim (University of Basel, Switzerland)

ECR Yuval Burstyn (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel) - internal communications officer

ECR Brittany Marie Ward (University of Waikato, New Zealand)

ECR Kerstin Braun (Arizona State University, USA)

Kira Rehfeld (Heidelberg University, Germany) - age modeling group coordinator

Sandy Harrison (University of Reading, UK)

External Advisors to the Steering Group

Jens Fohlmeister (PIK Potsdam, Germany)

Andy Baker (UNSW Sydney, Australia)

Martin Werner (AWI Bremerhaven, Germany)

Regional coordinators


Australia: Carol Tadros (Co-leader; ANSTO, Australia) and Bronwyn Dixon (Co-leader; University of Reading, UK), Monika Markowska (ANSTO, Australia).
Other regions: Petra Bajo (University of Melbourne, Australia), Andrew Lorrey (National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research, New Zealand)

Middle East

Yuval Burstyn (Team leader; Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel) and Belen Martrat (Spanish Council for Scientific Research (IDÆA-CSIC), Spain)


Nikita Kaushal (Team leader; Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) and Syed Masood Ahmad (Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi, India)

South America

Valdir Novello (Team leader; University of Sao Paulo, Brazil) and Brittany M. Ward (University of Waikato, New Zealand)


Kerstin Braun (Team leader; Arizona State Unversity, USA), Nick Scroxton (University of Massachusetts, USA) and Mike Rogerson (University of Hull, UK)

East Europe and Turkey

Zoltán Kern (Team leader; Research Centre for Astronomy and Earth Sciences, Hungary) and István Gábor Hatvani (Research Centre for Astronomy and Earth Sciences, Hungary)


Jun Hu (Team leader; University of Southern California, USA), Yassine Ait Brahim (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China), Haiwei Zhang (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China) and Wuhui Duan (Chinese Academy of Sciences)

North and Central America

Jessica Oster (Co-leader; Vanderbilt University, USA), Sophie Warken (Co-leader; University of Heidelberg, Germany), Natasha Sekhon (University of Texas at Austin, USA), Monica Arienzo (Desert Research Institute, USA) and Matthew Lachniet (University of Nevada, USA)

South East Asia

Nitesh Sinha (Team leader; IBS Center for Climate Physics, Busan, South Korea), Sakonvan Chawchai (Chulalongkorn Univerisity, Thailand) and Jiaoyang Ruan (IBS Center for Climate Physics, Busan, South Korea)

Western Europe

Franziska Lechleitner (Team leader; University of Bern, Switzerland), Carlos Pérez (Instituto Pirenaico de Ecología, CSIC, Spain) and Andrea Columbu (University of Bologna, Italy)

Northern Eurasia

Jonathan Baker (Team leader)